Visible 5G Coverage on Verizon's Netowrk

Visible Wireless Review: Is This $25/Month Unlimited Plan Worth It? (Pros and Cons)

Visible offers one of the best deals in wireless right now, but the Verizon-owned service is not for everyone.

If you’re thinking about switching to Visible from Verizon or another premium service, you need to understand how Visible works to decide if it’s worth the monthly savings.

What Is Visible and Is the Phone Service Worth It?

Visible is a low-cost cell phone service provider that’s owned by Verizon. The service runs on Verizon’s 4G LTE and 5G networks. Visible’s prepaid unlimited plan costs as low as $25 per month.

I joined Visible in October 2019 and have been a paying customer ever since. My cell phone bill is just $25 a month.

In this article, I’ll explain the pros and cons that you need to know before you sign up for Visible. Let’s get started!


Table of Contents


Plan and Pricing

Visible offers a single prepaid plan with unlimited talk, text and high-speed data for $40 a month. Taxes and fees are included.

Visible’s single line price has remained the same since it launched in 2018, but the service added a new way to save in late 2019 when it introduced the Party Pay group discount.

With Party Pay, groups of two, three or four (and more) get the same unlimited plan for a cheaper price:

  • 2 people: $35/month per line
  • 3 people: $30/month per line
  • 4 or more people: $25/month per line

Party Pay is unlike other multi-line discount programs because members don’t share the bill. Each person has their own Visible account and is responsible for paying their portion.

Since billing is separate, many Visible customers add total strangers to their party and everyone enjoys the savings.

When you sign up for Visible, you’ll receive a custom referral link that you can use to fill up your party. One reliable place to post your link is on Visible’s Party Pay Reddit forum.

Learn more about how Visible’s Party Pay works here.

Billing is handled through the Visible app. As a prepaid service, no credit check is required unless you finance your phone. There are no activation or early termination fees.

In January 2022, Visible added a 15-day free trial for select iPhone users.

The free trial is a great way to test out Visible’s service in your area, particularly if you’re not sure about the network coverage or data speeds where you live. Learn more here.

Network Coverage

Visible is owned by Verizon and uses its 4G LTE and 5G nationwide networks.

If you live in an area where Verizon offers strong coverage, Visible is likely a solid option to consider. But in rural areas that rely on domestic roaming, you may have issues with coverage.

Here’s what I learned after reaching out to Visible:

Visible runs on Verizon’s 4G and 5G networks, so coverage on the two is the same. Verizon’s 4G LTE and 5G covers over 99% of the US population, but remember that things like weather, terrain, and your specific device may affect your network experience. In some rare cases, customers who regularly access Verizon’s 3G network may experience coverage issues since Visible does not support legacy technologies like 3G.

Jeremy Bolton, Visible’s Chief Strategy Officer

Visible’s coverage map is frequently updated as 5G access expands. Enter your address here to confirm network coverage.

International calling is limited with Visible. However, Visible now includes calling to Canada, Mexico, the US Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico.

Call and Text Performance

Visible’s call and text performance will vary depending on your location. During my time as a Visible customer, I’ve had no dropped calls or missing text messages. It has been very reliable.

In the early days of my Visible service, I did receive a few spam text messages. However, that is no longer an issue.

If you’re in an area with little or no cell coverage, Visible supports Wi-Fi Calling at no additional charge. Just make sure to go into your phone’s settings to activate this feature.

Data Speeds

If you currently have a premium plan with Verizon, you won’t get the same data speeds with Visible. Like most low-cost cell phone service providers, Visible slows your data when the network is congested.

Despite the occasional deprioritization, I’ve always been able to stream video, use my apps and surf the web with Visible.

I’ve tested Visible’s data speeds extensively over the past two years using the Speedtest app.

During my most recent round of testing with an Apple iPhone 12, I recorded download speeds up to 216 Mbps. That’s higher than Visible’s 200 Mbps speed cap with 5G.

Here are the results from 15 speed tests conducted over five days in Los Angeles, California:

DateDownload Speed (Mbps)Upload Speed (Mbps)Ping (ms)
11/9/2021, 9:34 AM75.718.164
11/9/2021, 12:09 PM21458.860
11/9/2021, 5:03 PM17322.483
11/10/2021, 6:50 AM21155.382
11/10/2021, 12:00 PM13929.9109
11/10/2021, 5:40 PM44.65.2458
11/11/2021, 6:30 AM16255107
11/11/2021, 4:48 PM1422673
11/11/2021, 8:19 PM21661.470
11/12/2021, 6:07 AM17639.379
11/12/2021, 12:34 PM18037.977
11/12/2021, 7:06 PM17429.579
11/13/2021, 6:02 AM20784.180
11/13/2021, 12:04 PM13921.884
11/13/2021, 5:51 PM48.54.8382
AVERAGE153.536.679.1

Let’s break down the results:

  • First, the average download speed on Visible’s 5G network was 153.5 Mbps. From my experience, anything over 25 Mbps is fast enough to stream video without buffering.
  • Next, the average upload speed checked in at 36.6 Mbps. Upload speeds are generally lower, but this is also solid.
  • Finally, the ping or latency averaged 79 ms (milliseconds), which is not great but faster than the 150 ms that Visible mentions on its website. Gamers will want 60 ms or less.

In places where 5G is not available, you’ll connect to 4G LTE data. Learn more about Visible’s 5G here.

For me, Visible’s data speeds have been fast enough to do everything I need — including streaming live TV on my phone.

But if you want the absolute fastest data speeds, steer clear of Visible and other low-cost cell phone service providers.

Mobile Hotspot

Unlimited mobile hotspot usage sets Visible apart from many of its competitors, but there is a 5 Mbps speed cap.

I tested the mobile hotspot feature while putting together this review. Instead of connecting to Wi-Fi, I used Visible’s mobile hotspot capability to connect my laptop to the internet and type away.

According to Speedtest.net, the download speed was 10 Mbps. That’s double the 5 Mbps speed cap.

That mobile hotspot speed test result aligns with my experience over the past two years. The 5 Mbps speed cap isn’t always enforced.

Video Streaming

If you sign up for Visible, don’t expect to stream video in high definition. The phone service says that video typically streams at 480p, which is standard definition.

Before you rule out Visible for that alone, note that many low-cost providers do the same thing.

From my experience, 480p isn’t a big deal on a 6-inch phone screen. But if you insist on 720p or 1080p resolution, Visible may not be for you.

Keep in mind that you can stream in 720p when connected to Wi-Fi instead of cellular data.

Not sure what to make of this? Open up YouTube on your phone and watch a few videos in different resolutions to see if you can really tell the difference.

If your experience with 480p isn’t bad, you won’t be disappointed using Visible.

Phone Options

Visible has made a lot of progress when it comes to phone options. Customers can purchase a new phone or bring a compatible Apple or Android device to the service.

You can use the compatibility checker on Visible’s website to see if your phone will work.

I switched to Visible at a time when I needed a new phone, so I ended up purchasing a device from the carrier. At last check, about 30 phone models were available for sale. They include:

  • Apple iPhone 13
  • Apple iPhone 13 Pro
  • Apple iPhone 13 Pro Max
  • Apple iPhone 13 Mini
  • Apple iPhone 12
  • Apple iPhone 11
  • Google Pixel 6
  • Google Pixel 6 Pro
  • Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
  • Motorola Edge

When I purchased my device, I got a $200 prepaid Mastercard. That’s a frequent deal for new customers.

I always pay for my devices in full, but financing is offered through Affirm at as low as 0% APR. Financing does require a credit check and you may need to make a down payment.

Phones do go out of stock from time to time. See Visible’s website for the latest offers.

Customer Service

If you’re switching from Verizon or another major carrier to Visible, perhaps the biggest change will be adjusting to the way customer service is handled.

Visible has no physical stores or even an 800 number to call for help. Everything is done through the app.

Customer service options: 

  • Live chat
  • Facebook Messenger
  • Twitter

My switch to Visible was trouble-free, but I’ll admit the absence of phone support made me nervous. The company does provide frequent updates about your order via email.

I signed up on a Friday and began the process of transferring my number with Visible.

My old cell phone service provider released my number to Visible before my new phone arrived, but my service continued without interruption.

After FedEx delivered my phone on Monday, I turned it on and was using Visible moments later.

Visible customer support through Facebook

I read on Visible’s website that the average length of time to complete porting is 4.9 days, so don’t wait until the very end of your billing cycle to make the switch. Give yourself about 7 to 10 days.

Also, have the account number and PIN from your current provider. Visible needs that for the transfer.

Although Visible primarily offers customer support through live chat, you can request a callback. I have a separate article to help you save time and avoid hassle when contacting Visible customer support.

Deals and Discounts

I finally made the switch to Visible because of a limited-time offer that gave me a $200 prepaid Mastercard for purchasing a new phone and transferring my number.

At the time that I signed up, there was a $100 offer if you brought your own device.

Deals and discounts change frequently, so it’s best to visit Visible’s website for the latest information. Just know that they’ve been pretty aggressive with the prepaid Mastercard promos and even free gifts.

Visible updated its referral program in July 2021. When someone refers Visible to a friend, both the referrer and the referee get their next month for $5.

Final Thoughts

After reading my Visible review, I hope that you have more information to help you decide whether to switch to Visible or consider another wireless provider.

If it’s not for you, consider Xfinity Mobile or US Mobile. Both have plans on Verizon’s network.

Visible Phone Service Pros and Cons

ProsCons
Low price: $25/month with Party PayNo physical stores or 800 number
Verizon’s networkData speeds slower at times
Unlimited mobile hotspotVideo streams in standard definition
Frequent phone deals and discounts

BOTTOM LINE: If your cell phone bill is too high, there are ways to lower it. You just have to weigh the pros and cons. But don’t expect all the perks that a premium cell phone plan offers when you’re paying half the price.

Have you switched to Visible or another low-cost carrier? Add your review in the comments below.


More Cell Phone Articles From Michael Saves:

32 thoughts on “Visible Wireless Review: Is This $25/Month Unlimited Plan Worth It? (Pros and Cons)”

  1. I have the iPhone 12pro Max on Tmobiile using eSIM Apple you can have 2 lines on the eSIM but only one line can be in use at a time to use both at same time one must a eSIM the over a regular sim when both eSIM and the regular sim are in use at the same time the iPhone 12 only works on 4G LTE if use just one regular sim or eSIM then you can use the in 5G

  2. I tried Visible’s bring your own phone according to the website’s IMEI checker from phones listed on their website as being compatible. These two phones were fully, carrier and factory unlocked and didn’t pass the test nor did they pass when I chatted with two different service reps.
    Additionally as of today’s comment, Visible is selling cell phone models on their site that are not in the compatibility list.
    I still want to switch my carrier to Visible solely for the Hotspot. Trying to get around their “Lock you in” tactics got me the promise that someone of “higher authority” would contact me by phone and/or email. I’m still waiting

    1. I have visible and if you live in a larger city it’s probably fine. I had great service with Verizon and switched to visible. It’s quite possibly the worst service I have every seen. 0 download and 21 mbps upload speeds during the day. The customer service is the worst possible and resolved nothing, they are just terrible.

  3. Talked my wife in to going to Visible. Set up her Auto Pay. 2 months later THEY have not processed the payment and shut her phone off with NO warning. No email, nothing. After figuring out what happened AND Visible admitting it was their mistake. They said 24 to 48 Hrs to fix. 72 hours later they said the clock started only 19 hrs ago! Again, their mistake. We have spoken to 5 supervisors (and about a dozen chats). They all tell us something different. They only agree on 24 to 48 hrs to fix. BUT they can’t agree on when that starts or ends. Goodbye Visible. They admit they messed up but have NO info on how, why, when etc.

    1. This sounds awful. I’m sorry you experienced this. If you’re looking for another Verizon alternative, I recently tested US Mobile. They have 24/7 customer service, including by phone.

  4. Michael, thanks for your informative articles about visible. My husband I are seniors, currently with Verizon. We like Verizon’s coverage but feel we can find something cheaper. My husband uses his phone ONLY for calling. I’m going to switch him to a simple senior cell plan, but I’d like to stay with Verizon. I have a iPhone 11 which I use for talk, text, maps, and some internet surfing. It’s also a hotspot for my iPad where I do my streaming. I’ve never had trouble with connecting where we live, but I’ve noticed other carriers are often problematic. Is visible a good plan for me?

    1. Most likely, yes. Visible has unlimited mobile hotspot data, though speeds aren’t super fast. It’s fast enough to stream video from my extensive testing (2 years as a customer.) Check the coverage map, but since you have Verizon, you should be good. The people who usually have issues with Visible are in rural areas and rely on 3G towers. Visible only uses Verizon’s 4G and 5G networks, not the old 3G one.

  5. Your video was most helpful. The information was succinct and answered all my concerns with switching to a new service. Thank you!

  6. I have a Verizon sim, a Visible e-sim, and a Ting sim, all using Verizon network. At my home in Fort Mohave, AZ, which is a very small rural community where I only get two bars of service, the Verizon sim speed test is always between 20-30, while both the Visible and Ting sims are around 2-3. This is on a iPhone 12. It appears obvious in my case Verizon is throttling the data back to it’s MVNO’s in my area, regardless of congestion status (the same results any time of day or night, any day).

  7. Michael, thank you so much for the informative article. I just recently switched to Visible, myself. I’ve had a very large AT&T bill for the past 15 years and have realized that big companies don’t care about loyalty anymore, so why should I? I’ve been researching Visible for over a month now, and have recently just found out that they now have a data plan for a watch. So far, (mind you it’s only been a week) i’ve had the same service that i’ve had with AT&T and i’m only paying $25 a month with party pay. No dropped calls, or missed texts. I’m an avid wifi user, so haven’t really tested how fast it could be while on the 5G network. It’s seems about the same speed as the 5Ge on AT&T’s network, which is fine with me. I bought an iPhone 13 and financed it through Affirm. Visible overnighted the phone and the set-up was quick and painless. I’m travelling out of the country (to Mexico) here shortly and I’m trying to find out if Visible has international roaming, or will I not have any service?

  8. We travel to a mountain resort where only Verizon works. My family has T-mobile otherwise and very happy so not looking to switch. Currently we use a hot spot device from Verizon which we have used to make WiFi calls and checking emails in the mountains. However, our recent trip Verizon messed up when I upgraded the data plan and cannot find a resolution. So… I’m looking for a phone that uses Verizon’s network but want prepaid where I can pay for 30 days, then not used for a couple months and prepay again for the next trip. I can’t tell if Visible will work this way like my current hotspot set up. Thoughts? Thanks!

      1. Thanks Michael. I currently have Verizon prepaid Orbic Speed. It worked great until I upgraded from a 6 GB plan to 100 GB plan on our last trip making it unusable. Verizon says the device is the issue and won’t offer a refund of my upgrade.. 3 hours later and the last rep disconnecting me after all that effort was too much. I will forgo the refund and just move on.

        I had previous issues with them which is why our phones are all through T-mobile.. I’d prefer a phone over a hotspot anyhow and only need it when we travel to our RV resort where Verizon is the only option. Visible seems to be a great answer, provided I can just pay for a month here or there and not every month.

      2. I stream from my phone to our Vizio Smart TV. From what I read it sounded like it would stream to a TV but did I understand you to say the picture will not be good?

  9. Michael,
    I am so tired of Verizon and their increasing fees, plan changes, and data charges. We will be downsizing from 4 to 3 phones. At that time it’ll be two smart and 1 dumb phone. We rarely use outside the US, and don’t require more than maybe 5GB between all 3 phones. I’m concerned about the customer service assistance if I switch and wondering where I would get help. We aren’t tech savy and am even wondering about this sim card you speak of, LOLS.

    1. Hi Diane. Your smartphone have SIM cards in them, but Verizon probably put them in for you. It’s very simple to swap them out. Your new carrier will send you the SIM cards and you can use a paperclip to open the SIM card slot on your phone and insert it. There are many videos, including on my YouTube channel that show this process. But I understand your situation and your hesitancy to go to a carrier with limited customer support. If you want Verizon’s network, I’m wondering if you have Xfinity internet because Xfinity Mobile would be a good match. (I have a review of them because I tested the service for 2 years.) There are also carriers like Total Wireless. With this one, you could go to your local Target or Walmart and get a SIM card in the store just to try it out for 30 days on one phone before switching the others. Also, all of these companies will provide setup instructions and video tutorials when you sign up if you’re more of a visual learner. Best of luck.

  10. I have been using visible for almost a year now and am very satisfied [mostly calls and texting]. No issues, no problems, much lower cost. I do not watch a lot of videos on my phone so not sure how well that works. Price is lowest I can find.

  11. Michael !

    Thank you so much for the Party Pay and Visible reviews. I have had Visible myself for 3 months, I am in a rural area, and had to change my receiving band to band 5, to be able to have a signal good enough for data. Had to use a 3rd party app to do it after reading on the net about cellular towers-signals and bands. As an ex-IT (retired) guy I have an addition and question to add to the mix. First, have you been able to find out personally, IF Verizon treats their Visible product as any other MVNO ? Ie. the hierarchy usually from a major carrier (AT&T, Verizon and T-Moblie) in order of prioritization goes like this: Post Paid, Pre Paid then the MVNO’s. So do you think that Visible is nested between the prepaid Verizon, and the “other” MVNO’s ? Secondly, there is a work around for using the phone hotspot (if you are in a situation that calls for it) to run your home network(or more than one device) You can tether it to a wifi extender or repeater, or to a computer, either way you can broadcast the phones internet to more than 1 device.

    Great articles,
    Steve

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top