My cell phone bill has never been cheaper after I made the switch to Comcast’s Xfinity Mobile, a low-cost wireless provider that uses Verizon’s network.

A few months after Xfinity Mobile quietly launched in 2017, I signed up for the affordable wireless plan and since then I’ve typically spent $12 a month before taxes and fees — $15 all in.

Xfinity Mobile 2019 Review: Cheap cell phone plans on Verizon’s network

Over my first 12 months with them, I only paid $180.11 for cell phone service, including taxes and fees.

Xfinity Mobile billing history

My $15 cell phone bill

Xfinity Mobile comes with a small amount of 4G LTE data at no charge, so people who use very little data can get FREE cell phone service and only pay about $2 or $3 for taxes and fees. My bill was $2.33 for the January 2019 billing period.

January 2019 - $2 Xfinity Mobile bill

January 2019 – $2 Xfinity Mobile bill

In this post, I’ll outline the top 10 things to know about Xfinity Mobile. My review is different from some of the other Xfinity Mobile reviews you may find online because I’m not just a writer — I’ve actually been a paying subscriber for more than a year.

Overall, my experience with Xfinity Mobile has exceeded my expectations. I have no major complaints as a customer. During my first year with Xfinity Mobile, I saved $540 compared to my old unlimited plan with Sprint.

Read on to learn what you should know about Xfinity Mobile before you sign up…

Xfinity Mobile customer review: Table of contents 

  1. Eligibility requirement
  2. Plans and pricing
  3. How to pay $0 per month
  4. Flexible data plans
  5. Xfinity Mobile vs. Verizon data speeds
  6. Mobile hotspot 
  7. Video streaming
  8. Call and text performance
  9. Phone selection and deals
  10. Customer service

1. Eligibility requirement

Xfinity Mobile is unlike other mobile virtual network operators (MVNOs) because you must be an Xfinity internet customer to sign up for the service.

If you’ve had a lot of issues with Comcast cable or internet in the past, I can understand why you may not want to consider this service. I was willing to take the risk.

No Comcast in your area? Unfortunately, you’re not eligible for the mobile offer.

If you’re a Spectrum internet customer, there’s a new cell phone service that is very similar to Xfinity Mobile and also uses Verizon’s network.

Otherwise, you may want to try Verizon MVNO Total Wireless, which is available nationwide.

RELATED: Xfinity Mobile vs. Total Wireless: Which Verizon alternative is best?

2. Plans and pricing 

Verizon’s postpaid unlimited data plans cost between $75 and $95 for a single line of service. Xfinity Mobile uses Verizon’s towers and charges about half the price!

Xfinity Mobile features unlimited nationwide talk and text, no line access fees on up to five lines, access to 18 million Wi-Fi hotspots and includes 100 MB of shared data for free.

If you need more than 100 MB of data, which is pretty much everyone, pick one of two data plans:

  • Unlimited: $45/month per line and no monthly data usage limits (reduced speeds after 20GB)
  • By the Gig: $12/GB and pay only for the shared data that you use

3. How to pay $0 per month (before taxes and fees)

I pay by the gigabyte and stayed below 1GB of data for 10 of my first 12 months with Xfinity Mobile. The secret? Connecting to those Wi-Fi hotspots as much as possible to limit 4G LTE data usage.

What happened the other two months? Let me explain because I think it illustrates the flexibility of the service…

Going over 1GB of data: I was traveling a lot during November 2017 and quickly went over 1GB of data. Xfinity then charged me another $12 for a second GB of data. My bill for the month was $26.93.

Staying under 100MB of data: Remember that 100MB of shared data is included for free. In February 2018, I turned off mobile data on my phone and relied exclusively on Wi-Fi. I only paid $3.07 for taxes and fees.

4. Flexible data plans: Unlimited vs. By the Gig

Here’s what I really like about this service: Many other cell phone plans will offer 2GB or 5GB of data for a set price per month, use it or lose it. However, Xfinity Mobile only makes you pay for your data one gigabyte at a time.

To stay on budget, you can set up data notifications from the app to keep track of how much you’re using.

Of course, many people don’t want to worry about checking their data usage throughout the month. They may prefer the $45 a month unlimited plan.

My suggestion: Start with the By the Gig plan and see how it goes. You can always switch to the Unlimited plan during the middle of your billing cycle if you end up using too much data.

I’ve only done this once, but it’s great to have the freedom to switch between data options with no penalties.

5. Xfinity Mobile vs. Verizon data speeds

One of the primary reasons that I left Sprint for Xfinity Mobile was for Verizon’s network, which RootMetrics consistently ranks as the best in the nation, followed by AT&T.

I’ve read stories about how Verizon may slow down data usage for its MVNOs, but that’s not my experience.

I downloaded the Speedtest by Ookla app and tested my Xfinity Mobile download speeds 10 times over the past few days. Each time the download speed was between 40 Mbps and 70 Mbps — really fast!

In fact, that’s much higher than the speeds that Comcast says Xfinity Mobile customers should expect:

4G LTE network: typical download speeds of 5-12 Mbps and upload speeds of 2-5 Mbps

According to Verizon’s website, its 4G LTE wireless broadband is able to handle download speeds between 5 and 12 Mbps (Megabits per second) and upload speeds between 2 and 5 Mbps, with peak download speeds approaching 50 Mbps.

6. Mobile hotspot 

Mobile hotspot is included with Xfinity Mobile at no additional charge. This allows you to get online by using your mobile data to create an internet connection.

For example, I tested this feature when I needed to use my computer while traveling in a place without Wi-Fi.

Xfinity Mobile’s website says you need to be on the By the Gig plan ($12 per GB) to get 4G LTE for hotspot-powered devices. Speeds are limited to 600 Kbps for those on the Unlimited plan.

  • By the Gig plan: 4G LTE mobile hotspot speeds
  • Unlimited plan: 600 Kbps mobile hotspot speeds

Translation: With the Unlimited option, you can still read email and browse the web, but there may be buffering when streaming video or music. There are no speed restrictions for the By the Gig plan.

I temporarily switched to the Unlimited plan to play around with this feature and provide a better review of my Xfinity Mobile service. Despite what Xfinity Mobile warns on its website, I was able to stream video without buffering and watched an entire show on my laptop that was powered by the mobile hotspot.

Although there are no additional charges for the mobile hotspot feature, the data that you use will count toward your data charges for the month if you’re on the By the Gig plan.

Learn more about setting up your personal mobile hotspot on Xfinity Mobile’s website.

7. Video streaming

Some of Verizon’s unlimited plans allow for HD-quality streaming, but that’s not what you get with Xfinity Mobile.

Videos will stream in standard-definition quality, according to its FAQ page. To stream in HD-quality (720p), Xfinity Mobile suggests that you connect to one of its Wi-Fi hotspots.

“Our network is designed to save you money. With the standard resolution set at 480p, streaming video is optimized to use less data.”

I’ve streamed plenty of video on my smartphone since joining Xfinity Mobile — things like Netflix, Hulu and YouTube — and I haven’t had any problems with the video quality.

And just to be clear, I connect to Wi-Fi almost all the time, so I’m able to watch videos in HD.

8. Call and text performance

I had a great experience with Verizon’s network in the past, so I wasn’t really worried about Xfinity Mobile’s call and text performance where I live — and it has been close to perfect.

Since Xfinity Mobile runs on Verizon’s network, the coverage map looks a lot like the one for Verizon’s postpaid service. The difference is that Xfinity Mobile also has millions of Wi-Fi hotspots.

Take a look at the coverage maps below:

Xfinity Mobile coverage map

Xfinity Mobile coverage map

Verizon coverage map

Verizon coverage map

A great feature is that Xfinity Mobile supports Voice over LTE (VoLTE), which lets me talk and use data at the same time.

Wi-Fi calling has been expanded and is now available on all but a few Xfinity Mobile devices.

9. Phone selection 

The latest iPhones and Samsung devices make up most of the 16 or so phones that Xfinity Mobile sells online and in its stores, but there are a couple of options for under $200.

Unfortunately, only iPhone users can bring their own phone to Xfinity Mobile as of May 2019. When will Xfinity Mobile allow Android? I’ve reached out to Comcast in the past and they say they’re “working on it.”

Just recently, Xfinity Mobile updated the “Bring Your Phone” portion of its website to list Samsung Galaxy devices, but when you click through you get to a page that says “Galaxy compatibility is coming.” The message says the company is working to make Galaxy 8 and newer phones compatible. No timetable is provided.

Xfinity Mobile Samsung BYOD

Samsung Galaxy BYOD coming to Xfinity Mobile (Screengrab captured on May 27, 2019) 

If you don’t want to wait for Xfinity Mobile to allow Android BYOD, you can always purchase one of the Samsung devices that the provider sells.

Here’s a partial list of phones available for sale on Xfinity Mobile’s website:

  • Samsung Galaxy S10
  • Samsung Galaxy S10+
  • Apple iPhone XR
  • Apple iPhone XS
  • Apple iPhone XS Max
  • Samsung Galaxy Note9
  • Samsung Galaxy S9
  • Samsung Galaxy S9+
  • LG Stylo 4
  • LG K30
  • Motorola Moto E5 Play

When I signed up for Xfinity Mobile in September 2017, I bought a Samsung Galaxy S8 online and it arrived two days later. Xfinity Mobile was offering $200 off new phones at the time.

If you don’t want to pay in full as I did, qualified customers can spread device payments over 24 months at 0% APR.

Speaking of phone deals, Xfinity Mobile has shifted to offering prepaid cards instead of cash discounts. There’s typically some type of phone sale going on for high-end devices like the Samsung Galaxy S10 or the Apple iPhone XR.

However, I’ve noticed that only one brand or the other (Samsung or Apple) is usually on sale at once. For example, there was a $250 prepaid card offer for the Samsung Galaxy S10 the last time I checked, but no iPhone discounts were available.

If there’s not a deal for the type of phone that you want, just wait a few weeks. The sales change frequently.

10. Customer service

I set up my Xfinity Mobile service without ever visiting a store and didn’t have any problems getting started.

There are a number of FAQ pages that you can find within the app to answer questions about setting up service, switching data plans, billing and more.

You can also contact customer service via text, Facebook Messenger and phone — with an estimated wait time given. Xfinity Mobile’s customer service number is (888) 936-4968.

Xfinity Mobile customer service wait time listed in the app

Xfinity Mobile customer service wait time listed in the app

The first time I needed to contact Xfinity Mobile customer service was when my Samsung Galaxy S8 suddenly malfunctioned. I went to an Xfinity Store and couldn’t get an immediate replacement, but I was mailed a new phone the next day.

Since my phone was less than a year old and still under warranty, no additional money came out of my pocket.

The second time I called Xfinity Mobile was to ask whether my Samsung Galaxy S8 was locked or unlocked. Apparently, it was locked. Xfinity Mobile unlocked the device without a problem.

(Editor’s note: I only took the step to unlock my device to provide a more comprehensive review of Xfinity Mobile. I remain a customer of the service.)

Final thought 

I’ve saved a lot of money during my first year with Xfinity Mobile! Although Visible and Total Wireless also offer cell phone plans that run on Verizon’s network, Xfinity Mobile is less expensive.

With a cheaper cell phone plan, you may expect to make compromises — not with Xfinity Mobile.

Pros Cons
Great value for By the Gig and Unlimited plansMust be an Xfinity internet customer
Verizon's top-rated wireless networkNo BYOD (Bring your own device) for Android
Fast data speedsStandard-definition video streaming
Flexibility to switch data options
Phone customer service

My biggest fear about switching to Xfinity Mobile was that Comcast would take advantage of my loyalty and find a way to increase my internet bill — but that didn’t happen.

When my internet promo rate expired a few months ago, I called Comcast’s customer retention department and they worked with me on the price. I ended up getting an extension of my $52 a month internet package for another year.

The representative also didn’t know that I was a wireless customer (it’s billed separately), which alleviated my concerns.

I’ve done my best to provide you with a detailed review of my experience with Xfinity Mobile and what you can expect. If you’re also a customer, add your review in the comments below!

More Michael Saves stories you may like: