US Mobile Review: 5 Things to Know Before You Sign Up

US Mobile provides cheap cell phone plans that rely on two of America’s major wireless networks, but is the service worth the savings? 

I signed up for the service and tested its unlimited plan using Verizon’s network.

In this US Mobile review, I’ll share my experience with the low-cost carrier and compare it to my main provider, Verizon-owned Visible.

US Mobile Review: Cheap Phone Plans on Two Major Networks

  • What is US Mobile?: US Mobile is a mobile virtual network operator (MVNO) that offers prepaid cell phone plans with no contracts. 
  • What towers does US Mobile use?: As an MVNO, US Mobile doesn’t own any cell phone towers. Instead, it partners with Verizon and T-Mobile to offer its customers plans that run on their 5G and 4G LTE networks.
  • How much is unlimited data on US Mobile?: Unlimited Basic is $35/month for a single line, while Unlimited Premium is $45/month for a single line. Discounts are offered for multiple lines of service.
  • Can I bring my phone to US Mobile?: In most cases, you can bring your unlocked phone to US Mobile. If your device is not compatible, there are phones for sale through the company’s website.
  • Does US Mobile have any stores?: US Mobile is an online-only company with no retail locations. It offers 24/7 customer support by phone and chat.

During my month-long test, I carefully reviewed the service’s overall value, call and text performance, data speeds, phone options and my interactions with customer service.

Read on to learn what you should know about US Mobile before you sign up!


Table of Contents:

  1. Plans and Pricing
  2. Network Coverage
  3. Additional Features
  4. Phone Options
  5. Customer Service
  6. Pros and Cons Summary

1. Plans and Pricing

US Mobile’s cell phone plans are a lot cheaper than the major networks. However, the service could do a better job of simplifying the process of choosing the best plan.

US Mobile has plans with data caps, unlimited data, shared data and even the ability to build your own plan.

US Mobile 2022 Plans

From my five years of experience helping people switch to cheaper phone plans, most consumers want either a light data plan or an unlimited data plan, which is what I chose to test for this review.

Light Data Plans

For light data users, US Mobile offers unlimited talk, text and 1GB of data for $12 per month or you can get 5GB of data for $15 per month.

However, the price you see on the website is not what you pay.

Taxes and fees are extra for US Mobile’s plans with data caps. The company adds a $2 service fee and Regulatory Cost Recovery charges ($1 to $5 per line).

Add-on data is available for purchase if you run out during the middle of a billing cycle.

Unlimited Data Plans

US Mobile introduced two new unlimited data plans in May 2022: Unlimited Basic and Unlimited Premium.

The single-line price for unlimited talk, text and high-speed data starts at $35 per month. Families with 4+ lines can pay as low as $20 a month per line.

Taxes and fees are now extra with the new unlimited plans.

US Mobile Unlimited BasicUS Mobile Unlimited Premium
Monthly Price$35 for one line
2 lines: $30/line
3 lines: $25/line
4+ lines: $20/line
$45 for one line
2 lines: $40/line
3 lines: $35/line
4+ lines: $30/line
Data30GB of premium 5G data on Warp 5G (Verizon)
Speeds reduced after data threshold
100GB of premium 5G data on Warp 5G (Verizon)
Speeds reduced after data threshold
5G mmWave included
Hotspot Data Not included50GB included
International Data RoamingNot included10GB included

If you have three or more lines of Unlimited Premium, you’ll also be eligible to receive a free subscription to an audio, streaming or gaming service. Options include Audible, HBO Max, Netflix and PlayStation Plus.

The service is now offering a 10-day free trial of its unlimited plan on Verizon’s network. Learn more here.


IMPORTANT: In addition to the plan price, US Mobile charges $4 to mail a Starter Kit with a SIM card. I used promo code FREEKIT. You can also activate service instantly with eSIM.


US Mobile vs. Visible Price Comparison

For people who want unlimited data on Verizon’s network, Visible may be a better value than US Mobile.

Visible offers a single plan with unlimited talk, text, data and mobile hotspot for $40 a month, taxes and fees included. 

However, the price drops to $25 a month when you take advantage of Party Pay.

This is similar to a family plan or multi-line discount, but everyone in the party is billed separately.

For that reason, many Visible members add total strangers to their party and everyone gets the lowest rate. (If you don’t want to form a new party, you can join mine here.)

Learn more about the service in my Visible review.

2. Network Coverage

US Mobile customers get access to either Verizon or T-Mobile’s 5G and 4G LTE networks.

From its website, US Mobile has a tool where you can enter your current carrier, location or device to determine which network is best for you.

Warp 5G (formerly Super LTE Network) refers to Verizon, and GSM LTE Network is T-Mobile.

When your Starter Kit arrives, it will include SIM cards for both networks. Since my primary line is with Verizon-owned Visible, I wanted to test US Mobile on the Verizon network. That’s the black SIM card.

US Mobile also offers eSIM activation (no physical SIM card needed) with select devices.

US Mobile Starter Kit (Verizon and T-Mobile SIM cards)

Verizon’s network is strong from my Los Angeles test location, so the results didn’t surprise me.

I experienced no major issues with calls, texts and data speeds on US Mobile’s network.

For my testing, I spent about 120 minutes making calls using an Apple iPhone 12.

The audio was slightly fuzzy and muffled for the first few calls, but US Mobile’s customer support made a change on their end and resolved the issue.

I sent many text messages throughout the month-long test. All of them went through without a delay.

US Mobile’s data speeds exceeded my expectations. Download speeds surpassed 100 Mbps for 10 out of the 20 speed tests that I conducted using the Speedtest by Ookla app.

A download speed of 10 to 20 Mbps is typically fast enough for my needs, including video streaming.

US Mobile Speed Test Results

DateDownload MbpsUpload Mbps Ping
6/24/2021
10:16 PM
30.92.9531
6/25/2021
6:34 AM
60.92.3030
6/26/2021
8:06 AM
48.51.0431
6/26/2021
5:31 PM
12.7 3.3647
6/27/2021
6:48 PM
9.540.3651
6/28/2021
5:22 PM
15.31.0024
6/30/2021
6:44 AM
14723.535
6/30/2021
8:14 PM
11618.237
7/1/2021
10:39 AM
12316.131
7/2/2021
5:50 PM
90.7 16.9 30
7/3/2021
8:11 PM
15923.128
7/3/2021
10:07 AM
74.915.537
7/3/2021
10:04 PM
12627.335
7/4/2021
6:39 AM
14828.939
7/4/2021
11:00 AM
96.236.427
7/5/2021
8:13 PM
14637.525
7/6/2021
6:24 AM
14938.525
7/12/21
9:43 AM
12019.228
7/13/21
6:53 AM
14523.827
7/13/21
1:16 PM
76.820.134

With US Mobile’s new unlimited plans (Basic and Premium), data speeds are slowed after a threshold. That’s 30GB for Unlimited Basic and 100GB for Unlimited Premium.

In the past, US Mobile marketed unlimited plans as “uncapped and unthrottled.” They’re no longer offered.

3. Additional Features

My test of US Mobile focused on the ways people most frequently use their phones: calls, texts and data. However, there are several additional features with US Mobile that are worth mentioning.

  • Mobile hotspot: Up to 50GB of hotspot data is included with Unlimited Premium
  • International data: Unlimited Premium subscribers get up to 10GB of high-speed roaming, and international data packs are available for other users to purchase.
  • WiFi calling: WiFi calling is now included at no extra cost

In addition, US Mobile provides Usage Analytics from its mobile app and website. Reviewing your talk, text and data history can help you determine if you’re on the best plan for your needs.

4. Phone Options

Like most cell phone service providers, US Mobile gives you the option of buying a new phone or keeping your current device.

I used an Apple iPhone 12 for my testing. To confirm that my device was compatible, I followed the instructions on US Mobile’s website and entered the phone’s IMEI number.

Since the service has two network partners (Verizon and T-Mobile), it says nearly all unlocked phones with a SIM card slot will work.

US Mobile tool lets you check network compatibility based on phone's MEID or IMEI number

If you prefer to purchase a new unlocked phone, you probably don’t want to shop through US Mobile’s website.

At the time of this writing, fewer than 15 devices were for sale and there were no discounts.

I purchased my test device from Apple, but I’ve bought phones from Visible and Xfinity Mobile in the past. Both companies offer frequent phone deals for new customers.

5. Customer Service

US Mobile has no retail locations where you can get help troubleshooting your phone or service, but 24/7 customer support is available by phone or live chat.

To evaluate the company’s customer service, I called them twice and initiated three live chat sessions.

US Mobile’s live chat is available from the app and website. Although it was faster to chat than call, I found that it required more work to explain myself over chat.

US Mobile 24/7 chat customer service from website or mobile app

Both test calls to customer service were efficient, including one that resolved the audio issue that I mentioned earlier.

The availability of 24/7 phone support is a real plus compared to my main provider, Visible. With that service, most issues are handled over chat and there’s no 800 number to call.


MORE DETAILS: US Mobile’s Starter Kit and the included activation instructions were very easy to follow. I also liked the design of the account dashboard from the mobile app.


US Mobile: Pros and Cons Summary

If you’re thinking about switching away from Verizon or T-Mobile, US Mobile is worth considering since it offers affordable plans on both networks.

The plan page on US Mobile’s website says it has “Something for Everybody.” That’s true, but the long list of plans can be confusing for people who are moving to a low-cost provider for the first time.

Still, the pros of US Mobile outweigh the cons. You will save money compared to Verizon and T-Mobile.

ProsCons
Affordable fixed data, unlimited and custom plansExcessive number of plans
Family plan discount and perks with unlimitedTaxes and fees are extra
Choice of networks: Verizon or T-MobileLimited phones for sale
Most phones are compatible
Availability of 24/7 phone customer support

My favorite alternatives to US Mobile include Visible (Verizon’s network) and Mint Mobile (T-Mobile’s network). Read my reviews of those services to compare the features that matter to you most.

If you’re a current US Mobile customer or had the service in the past, leave a comment below to add to my review!

31 thoughts on “US Mobile Review: 5 Things to Know Before You Sign Up”

  1. hi michael,

    thank you for the informative review, very helpful. i tried to find more information how to built a plan for only texting and calling with us mobile on its website. the site says it offers it but when i try to find information, the site loops me back over and over to “orderging a starter kit” first and then figuring out a plan later. that did make any sense, so i tried to chat. dead end, no answer of substance, just an empty promise send me a screen shot. that never came, because nobody has ever figured out how send a screen shot via chat. any ideas how to get specific info on plans and pricing? i have a phone but no sim card or number yet. thanks immo

  2. thanks 4 your article, i am a us mobile customer for almost 2 years already and referred countless ppl already to them, i love it great customer service, 24 hours, everything. i use it with a verizon unlocked device and it comes out much cheaper than page plus or tracfone etc.
    one of the most amazing things about them is that they emailed me to let me know when they went down in price on my plan, so to make sure i shouldnt overpay.
    for sommeone with a capped data plan, i used to pay 5 dollars extra a month for hotspot capability untill a us mobile rep told me a trick that he hell change my line to a pooled line even though its only me and over there hotspot is free! albeit only with the data i have, not extra but still at least no 5 dollar charge

  3. Great review. I’m on Google Fi, which from a price-perspective I don’t recommend, because for some reason they bill a lot more in taxes than other MVNOs, and their plans are a little higher price on top of that. But it is nice that Google Fi use 2 networks (T-Mobile and US Cellular) simultaneously (don’t have to choose, it uses both), and phones built for Google Fi (Pixels and a few others) need no SIM and have seamless free roaming in most other countries in Europe and N. America (which I never use). Interesting that US Mobile’s plans that have unlimited data include all taxes. My taxes for 3 lines on Google Fi add up to $12/month! When I asked Google Fi customer support about it, they say they have no control over the tax/fee portion of the bill, yet my prior MVNO (Ting) at the same service address was only $4.50 in taxes/fees (vs. Google Fi’s $12). Not sure what is going on w/ Google Fi taxes. Maybe it has something to do with being on 2 networks at the same time…

    …Also, roaming in Alaska had better coverage on Google Fi than what my son’s US Mobile phone got, though US Mobile was fine for him in city-limits in Alaska (Anchorage and Wasilla).

  4. I have been using Page Plus for several years. I have the $29.95 plan and my wife who uses the phone very little has the $12.00 plan. I sometimes have a difficult time understanding their support staff. Can someone please comment if this is an issue with US MOBILE please. Also how quickly can the phone numbers be ported?

    1. Porting time varies. Sometimes it’s done the same day, but other times it takes a few days. That’s why I always sign up for a new provider about 5-7 days before my current plan is set to expire.

  5. U.S. Mobile’s on-line chat customer support is pathetic. their Tech’s ? can not understand basic queries, keep repeating the same questions. Maybe a call would work better but I gave up after 2 hours of going around in circles. I told the tech at the beginning that my sim does not work in either my phone or my wife’s phone but her sim worked in both. After being dropped numerous times ”Sorry we are having server problems” and going around in circles the tech said it maybe a sim configuration problem. That’s what I said in the beginning. By that stage I’d decided to move to a better carrier. Cheap, but you get what you pay for.

    1. My experience with US Mobile phone support has been fairly positive. Given the extremely inexpensive unlimited plans they have, I was surprised at the level of customer service they provided. I tend to avoid chat support. Usually chat support is lacking across all companies, though sometimes you get lucky.

  6. Can’t decide to switch from Verizon because I am paying $105 for two lines for 5G Start to either- Xfinity Mobile, Visible, Google Fi or US Mobile. I am just worried more about coverage, drop calls and being able to have a reliable connection all the time. Thoughts?

    1. I’ve tried all of them except Google Fi. Xfinity Mobile is excellent. Visible is great bang for your buck, but slower data at times. And so is US Mobile. You can always do the Visible free trial to see for yourself.

  7. Michael, thank you for your concise and objective reviews. First time viewing your videos and I find them to be succinct, understandable, and not overly long. I’m a Verizon customer with a 3 member family plan, but can no longer the cost. I pay for my mom and daughter’s service which seems to make US Mobile “easier” to manage monthly billing then “work-arounds” via Visable’s Party Pay option. My only hesitation is that my mom lives hours away (Miami,Fl). Her present Verizon service is excellent but will that change with US Mobile given her older IPhone SE? Also, I have no CC’s acct’s offering Cell phone insurance. Does US Mobile offer any?

    1. Hi Andy. Visible’s workaround really isn’t a lot of work, but I understand. And since you have a traditional family plan, US Mobile sounds really great for you. You also should be able to get one of the perks if you choose unlimited since there are 3 lines. The service for US Mobile is the same as Verizon as long as you use the Verizon SIM card. I have tested US Mobile in Miami Beach and Fort Lauderdale. In fact, I had US Mobile while driving across America. It was before the test I referred to in this article. I think you’ll be happy with the service coming from Verizon and the savings will be awesome.

  8. I switched to US Mobile (from Verizon) largely due to this article. However, nowhere does the author or the US mobile website or signup process mention that their “unlimited” calls are for the U.S. only unless you are on their $45/month plan. Can’t even call Canada.

    I feel scammed.

  9. Curious to know the “all inclusive” cost with fees, etc. for the 5GB plan on US Mobile vs. Visible. Do you know what my bottom line monthly cost total would be for one vs. the other?
    Thanks for the great info!

  10. Thank you for helping with this confusing business. I thought you should know that in looking into pricing via US Mobile’s chat today, I learned the family plan is NOT $25/line for 3 or more lines, as stated in your review and also stated very clearly on their website. It’s $25/line for the third and any additional lines, but line 1 is still $45 and line 2 $30. Here’s the quote from them via chat:

    “To get onto the Family Plan, you need to have multiple lines in the same account and all of them must be on the Unlimited All plans, with AutoPay being turned ON. If these conditions are all being met, then the lines will then be billed according to the following pricing policy:
    1st line: $45
    2nd line: $30
    All line after the 3rd: $25 per line”

    Also of note, their chat bot said WiFi calling was only available for Super LTE (Verizon) on Unlimited All and Pooled plans. The representative later assured me it was now available for all plans. For some reason my confidence is low.

    I’m not comfortable with this level of dishonesty and incompetence. I’ll be checking out Visible. I assume their Unlimited plan really is $25 per line. Yes?

  11. The rep was firm about that pricing he gave me. I double checked with him later in the chat, quoting from the website and stating that differed from what he said. He then double downed, “assured” me his statement was correct. I have a transcript of the chat; if you’d like to see it let me know. I suppose I may have just gotten a bad rep. I’ll circle back when I have some time & let you know what I find out. On the WiFi issue as well.

  12. @Mark — not sure what that rep is talking about. I’m on my son’s US Mobile all-in plan. He was paying $30/month per line for 2 lines ($60 total), then when I added myself and my wife and other son, he is now billed $25/line for all 5 line. — Unlimited talk, text, and data (throttled after 75 GB per line, and their throttle isn’t as slow as other providers’ throttle — their’s is 1.5mb/s). I’ve never hit the 75GB, so can’t verify that, but that is what they state (at least when I checked a few months ago). The $25/line for the all-in plan seems too good to be true, but it has been true for us. I’ll double check with my son to see if anything has changed. He auto-pays $25 five times per month, on the day of the month that each phone was activated.

    1. I spoke with a rep over the phone today. He was excellent. I have an old Moto X4 running Android 9 and we were troubleshooting how to get WiFi calling to work. That’s a work in progress, but as for the pricing he confirmed it’s $25 for every line if 3 or more are on the account. He said perhaps the chat rep who advised me incorrectly was confused in that during the initial signup, the system bills at $45 for the first line and $30 for the second because it doesn’t know you’ll be adding a third (because of the linear flow of time, yo). So the initial month’s billing will be off and I’ll need to call to get refunds for month #1, but for all subsequent months it’ll be good at $25 per line. Based on the excellent interaction I had with the rep, and the fact I got through right away, I’ll be working hard to make US Mobile work for me.

  13. I don’t quite understand how the free trial works. They send me a sim card, and then I’m able to put it in my existing phone and make calls with my existing number on the US Mobile network? Is that right?

  14. This review mentioned, “The company adds a $2 service fee and Regulatory Cost Recovery charges ($1 to $5 per line)”. I’m guessing all those dollar amounts are paid per month, and are not one-time payments. Has anyone found out what determines whether a customer pays $1 or $5 or something in between, for that “Recovery charge”? The US Mobile website doesn’t reveal that.

  15. If I sign up with us mobile with my existing phone a 6s plus and bring my phone # with it can I then buy a new phone if I choose 2 months later and swap out the 6 s plus with say an i phone 11 for example. Is it going to be easier that way compared to buying the phone now and then porting the number and inducing the new phone at the same time of signing up? thanks

  16. Ex US Mobile customer

    US Mobile offers extremely poor customer service. Based on my experiences with them, I switched to another carrier. Getting US Mobile to port out my numbers to my new carrier took TEN DAYS of constantly calling them and my new carrier. US Mobile mainly focused on ‘retaining’ me and kept mis-representing the status of my port-out. It finally took a supervisor from my new carrier calling US Mobile directly for my port-out to complete. And the ‘US’ in US Mobile is misleading. They are 100% off-shore based.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top