Twigby Wireless Review

Is Twigby Worth It? 5 Things to Know Before You Sign Up in 2022

Twigby is a low-cost cell phone service provider that may offer big savings compared to your existing carrier.

Twigby is based in Tennessee and began offering cheap phone plans in 2016.

I first tested Twigby back in 2019, but I gave the service a second look a few years later after it switched to a new network — Verizon.

Twigby Wireless Review: Cheap Phone Plans on Verizon’s Network

During my latest 60-day test, I reviewed the service’s overall value, call and text performance, data speeds, phone options and my interactions with customer support.

Keep reading to learn everything you need to know about Twigby before you sign up!

1. Plans and Pricing

Twigby added new plans in late July 2022, including an unlimited plan with 20GB of high-speed data.

Plus, unlimited talk and text is now standard on all plans.

Twigby remains a better value for light data users. It has a plan with unlimited talk, text and 1GB of high-speed data that costs $5 a month for three months, then it increases to $15 a month.

All of Twigby’s new plans feature special introductory pricing for the first three months of service.

If you go over your high-speed data limit during the billing cycle, you have several choices:

  • Purchase 1GB of data for $6
  • Move up to the next plan
  • Access slow data (2G speeds) free of charge

Taxes and fees are not included in the advertised price. I paid about $3 in taxes and fees on top of the plan price, which was around $20 after a promotional discount.

2. Network Coverage

Twigby is a mobile virtual network operator (MVNO) that doesn’t own any cell phone towers. Instead, Twigby partners with Verizon to provide coverage on its 5G and 4G LTE networks.

Previously, Twigby relied on Sprint’s network. That partnership ended after Sprint and T-Mobile merged.

Since Twigby uses Verizon’s towers, this service is ideal for people who know Verizon is strong in their area. You can enter you ZIP code on Twigby’s website to preview the coverage.

Twigby Coverage Map (Verizon Network)

Like many low-cost providers, data speeds will be slowed during times of network congestion.

I downloaded the Speedtest app on my Apple iPhone 12 to evaluate Twigby’s 5G data speeds. Download speeds averaged 29.66 Mbps for the five tests that I conducted.

I ran these speed tests in June 2022 from the same location in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Twigby Speed Test Results

DateDownload Speed (Mbps)Upload Speed (Mbps)Ping (ms)
6/1/2022
6:03 PM
54.71.9587
6/2/2022
8:59 AM
14.65.6446
6/3/2022
2:11 PM
22.75.2442
6/4/2022
2:02 PM
42.35.0138
6/5/2022
5:25 PM
14.03.2736
AVERAGE29.664.2249.8

Twigby’s download speeds were a bit slower than what I’ve come to expect from other carriers that use Verizon’s network: Visible, US Mobile and Xfinity Mobile.

However, the speeds were adequate for watching video, streaming music and using smartphone apps.

Overall, I was pleased with Twigby’s performance on Verizon’s network. I experienced clear call quality, no issues with text messages and reliable data speed performance.

3. Additional Features

Signing up for one of Twigby’s plans gives you access to two popular features: mobile hotspot and international calling.

Mobile Hotspot

The mobile hotspot feature is available at no additional charge. However, data that you use while connected to mobile hotspot will be deducted from your Twigby plan.

Since mobile hotspot usage comes out of your data plan, I recommend that you use it sparingly.

I connected my computer to Twigby’s mobile hotspot to add more context to this review. According to Speedtest.net, the download speed was nearly 40 Mbps.

International Calling

Twigby’s service is only available in the United States. However, you can make calls from the U.S. to over 80 countries (Mexico and Canada included) with international calling.

International talk and text is included with your plan. See a list of eligible countries here.

If you’re traveling outside of the United States, you may be able to rely on Wi-Fi and use apps like WhatsApp or Facebook Messenger to stay connected.

Another option is to buy a local SIM card from the airport where you’re traveling.

Twigby Deals

Twigby Deals is perhaps the most valuable perk of subscribing to the phone service.

This is a customer-only discount program with exclusive deals. The offers change frequently, but several of them caught my eye:

  • Save $10/month on YouTube TV for four months
  • Sign up for Costco and get a $30 gift card
  • Get 30% off select Crocs styles
  • Discounts on movie tickets and concessions
  • Coupons to use at grocery stores
Twigby Deals

The Twigby Deals program is managed by PerkSpot. Once you sign up for Twigby Deals, you’ll receive weekly emails that highlight new offers.

4. Phone Options

Twigby lets customers buy a new phone or bring their existing device. Most people who switch to the service will want to keep their phone.

Your phone must be unlocked to make the switch. Check compatibility here.

For those who want to purchase a phone from Twigby, the selection is not great. There were only about 15 phone models available on Twigby’s website as of this review.

Most devices for sale were budget-friendly, but they didn’t include the latest Apple and Samsung phones.

Twigby phone selection

TIP: If you want to upgrade to a new device at the same time that you switch to Twigby, purchase an unlocked and compatible phone from another source like eBay or Amazon.


5. Customer Service

Twigby mentions its high customer satisfaction scores on its website, but support options are actually quite limited.

Customer service inquiries are handled through live chat. There are no Twigby retail locations or even a toll-free number for customers to call when problems arise.

I tested Twigby’s live chat three times for this review. The support agents were prompt and helpful.

Twigby Chat Support

From my years of helping people switch to low-cost carriers, I’ve found that the overwhelming majority of issues take place in the first hours and days of service.

You can avoid a lot of hassle by checking the coverage map and confirming that your device is compatible.

Once you’ve signed up for Twigby, you’ll receive a SIM card in the mail. The Starter Kit packaging is minimalist, but the included setup instructions are easy to follow.

I was up and running with Twigby in about five minutes.

Twigby Starter Kit

Twigby users can manage their account from the service’s website or mobile app. I recommend that you download the My Twigby app to easily track your data usage.

You can also use the app to make payments and review billing statements.

Twigby App Screenshots

If you switch to Twigby and it doesn’t work out, you can get a refund. The service offers a 30-day Satisfaction Guarantee.

Final Thoughts

Twigby provides a significant savings compared to Verizon’s postpaid plans, but I prefer other low-cost options in most cases.

Think about it this way: Verizon-owned Visible offers an unlimited plan (no high-speed data cap) for as low as $30 per month. Some Twigby plans are about the same price, but you don’t get truly unlimited data and have to track data usage with most plans.

Still, Twigby may be worth considering in the right circumstances:

  • You can take advantage of a Twigby promotion (like the 3-month introductory offer)
  • You don’t use a lot of high-speed data per month
  • You’re comfortable with Twigby’s limited customer support options

Have you tried Twigby? Add to my review in the comments below to help your fellow savers!


More Content From Michael Saves:

3 thoughts on “Is Twigby Worth It? 5 Things to Know Before You Sign Up in 2022”

  1. Thank you for this article. We have been going back and forth on where to switch to. Twigby just switched their plans to even better ones. We made the jump!! get unlimited with 1 gig for $5.

  2. Our six month half price introductory period with Twigby just ended. The $15/month 1 gb plan with 300 minutes and unlimited text is now $19.70 with tax. So I’m really not saving much over my $20 1 gb plan with Tracfone. Adding additional data is cheaper with Twigby than we had with Tracfone, but MUCH more hassle. With Tracfone your data stops when you have used it up and you can add more if you want for $10 per GB. With Twigby, we kept the overage protection on so there were not unwelcome surprises, however, when the data ran out and we opted to move to the next plan online for more data, it never worked until we texted a representative and they did something on their end. It was not immediate and once we did not have data for the event we purchased it for. It looks like now there is an option with Twigby to just buy another gb for $6, but for the same price you could get 3gb if you temporarily move up to the next plan. Also, it does not carry over like it does with Tracfone. I left Tracfone because I was unhappy that they had been bought by Verizon and the discount codes I used became rare instead of almost always available. But if I had it to do over again, I would stay with Tracfone.

    The bigger data users in our family switched from Straight Talk to Visible and joined a huge party of strangers (party pay) so they got unlimited for $25/month including all taxes and fees. That’s a deal that’s hard to beat, but it hasn’t even been a year and now that plan is ending and the cost is going up to $30/month. Still a good deal, but I worry that Verizon’s near monopoly means much more expensive phone service once they have squeezed their competitors out.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top